IPL 2024 Teams: All That You Need to Know


With the stage set for the 17th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) from March 22nd, 2024, the IPL 2024 teams are raring to compete against each other. Each of the ten teams represents an Indian city or state and adds its unique flavour to the tournament. Cricket enthusiasts are eagerly awaiting to witness the performance of these teams as they battle it out for the coveted IPL title. 

Overview of IPL 2024 Teams

The IPL 2024 teams are formed by acquiring players through annual auctions, trading players within the trading window, or as a replacement for unavailable players. Player contracts are generally for one year but can be extended. The teams have been selected after careful consideration and fierce bidding by the franchise owners.

Team Logos and Colours


All IPL 2024 Team logos are vibrant and eye-catching with their stunning designs. Here are the descriptions of each team logo: 

Chennai Super Kings: The logo comprises a roaring lion head, and the name of the franchise is in blue with a crown on a yellow team colour base.

Delhi Capitals: The logo is designed with the dark blue team colour as the base on which a shield with the parliament building is seen. The name of the franchise is written within the shield, and 3 red roaring lions can be seen below the name.

Kolkata Knight Riders: The team's logo is a golden shield at the centre, with a helmet on fire on the top part of the shield. The franchise name is in bold golden colours on the purple team colour base.

Mumbai Indians: This logo features a Sudarshan chakra bordered by tricolour arcs and the franchise name in the blue team colour.

Punjab Kings: This team's logo uses red and gold colours as a base and features a lion and Punjab in gold, while Kings is written in bold white letters.

Rajasthan Royals: This logo has the franchise’s initials in gold with two lion buglers on either side on a royal blue team colour base.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: The logo features an eagle with a rising sun in the backdrop in orange team colours.

Lucknow Super Giants: This logo features a Garuda bird with tricolour wings and a body made of a bat with a red ball and orange seams.

Gujarat Titans: In this logo, the name of the team is written on an apex, and the colour is lavender.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: This team's logo has a roaring lion on the team colours, black and red panel with the name of the team written on it.

Captains and Squad Compositions

Let's have a brief look at each of the IPL 2024 teams.

1. Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Touted as one of the most consistent franchises since 2008, with a 58.22% win percentage, the IPL 2024 Chennai Super Kings Team has won 5 IPL titles under the able guidance of their captain, M.S. Dhoni. The team’s record of reaching the playoffs 12 times in 14 seasons shows the talent it holds. The team Chennai Super Kings is a balanced mix of experienced campaigners and emerging talents. 

2. Delhi Capitals (DC)

The return of former captain Rishabh Pant has strengthened the IPL 2024 Delhi Capitals team. However, Delhi Capitals can easily be labelled underachievers. Despite having young talents and being mentored by cricketing greats, they have never been able to capitalise on their early successes in the tournament. They enter the 17th season with renewed hope and determination to win their maiden IPL title in 2024. 

3. Gujarat Titans (GT)

One of the recent additions to the tournament is the IPL 2024 Gujarat Titans team, which will participate under a new captain, Shubman Gill. The Gujarat Titans have put on a great show in the two seasons they have played, winning in 2022 and becoming runners-up in 2023. The unavailability of star players Mohammed Shami and Rashid Khan in the 17th edition of the IPL is a cause of concern for GT. 

4. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

One of the founding franchises to have won more than one IPL title team, Kolkata Knight Riders, enjoys a massive fan following. The two IPL title wins within three years, in 2012 and 2014, renewed the interest in the team. The revamped and young IPL 2024 Kolkata Knight Riders team under the captaincy of Shreyas Iyer would love to replicate the previous legendary performance and win their third IPL title. 

5. Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)

A recent addition, the Lucknow Super Giants have emerged as strong contenders for the IPL title, entering the playoffs in both 2022 and 2023. The IPL 2024 Lucknow Super Giants team under K.L. Rahul has an equal mix of hard-hitting batsmen, all-rounders, and a solid bowling attack. The team will work to capitalise on the previous year's performance and look for their maiden IPL title.

6. Mumbai Indians (MI)

The IPL 2024 Mumbai Indians team will compete under a new captain, Hardik Pandya. Team Mumbai Indians are considered the most successful, with five IPL title wins. One of the costliest teams in the IPL, they would look to improve their performance to win their 6th IPL title.  

7. Punjab Kings (PBKS)

The Punjab Kings team has been quite inconsistent with its performances in the IPL tournaments and has failed to make it to the playoffs since 2014. The IPL 2024 Punjab Kings team hopes to break the playoff jinx under Shikar Dhawan’s captaincy after 3 new international players and an assortment of local talent have been added to the team for the 17th season of IPL. 

8. Rajasthan Royals (RR)

Team Rajasthan Royals were the least expensive founding franchise of IPL and the first winner of the IPL title in 2008. The team is trying to replicate the success with no luck. One of the most talented teams they would like to break the shackles and come out victorious this season. The IPL 2024 Rajasthan Royals team, captained by Sanju Samson, is a lively mix of youth and experience.

9. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

The star-studded team is one of the founding franchises that has yet to win an IPL title. The team Royal Challengers Bangalore, captained by Faf du Plessis, would love to use the experience and talent of its players to win the elusive IPL title. The IPL 2024 Royal Challengers Bangalore team has a massive fan base.

10. Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

The team Sunrisers Hyderabad, captained by Pat Cummins, entered the IPL tournament in 2013 and has won one IPL title hence. The IPL 2024 team, Sunrisers Hyderabad, would like to improve their inconsistent performances for yet another IPL title win.


The IPL has changed the way cricket is played since its inception in 2008. The tournament is a unique blend of cricketing skills and entertainment. The unveiling of the IPL 2024 teams has upped the anticipation quotient. 

As the tournament gears up for yet another season, the excitement of the fans of seeing their favourite stars in action is palpable. It remains to be seen which team will triumph against the odds and lift the IPL title in 2024.