IPL 2024 Format


With every new year comes the expectation and excitement for a new season of the IPL, and the 2024 season is no different. With new squads, new captains, and renewed hope, fans cannot wait to cheer their favourite teams on as they compete for the grand title once more.

Although seasoned fans might be able to keep up with how the IPL is conducted, newer fans or those looking to learn about how the IPL is played out would benefit from learning about the IPL 2024 format. In this blog, we will go over how the IPL is structured and what it takes for a team to enter the league and ultimately win the title.

Overview of the IPL 2024 Format

Scheduled to begin on March 22nd, the IPL 2024 season is drumming up major excitement for fans and cricket enthusiasts across the nation. The team Chennai Super Kings will kick off the new season in a match against the team Royal Challengers Bangaluru to give a proper beginning to months of fanfare and hype.

Introduction to the IPL 2024 Format

For this season, all of the teams will play seven home matches and seven away matches, with 74 matches being played between the teams overall during the IPL 2024 season. The IPL format was changed for the 2023 season, with all 10 teams in the IPL season being divided into two groups (Group A and Group B). Every franchise team will play in the 14 leagues of IPL 2024. There are two qualifier rounds and one eliminator round that will be scheduled.

Duration of the Tournament

The IPL 2024 season begins on March 22nd, 2024, and is expected to end on May 26th. The schedule for the first 21 matches has been announced, with further reveals coming at a later date.

Number of Teams

A total of 10 teams will be playing in the league, consisting of the following:

Kolkata Knight Riders

Chennai Super Kings

Rajasthan Royals

Delhi Capitals

Lucknow Super Giants

Gujarat Titans

Mumbai Indians

Punjab Kings

Royal Challengers Bengaluru

Sunrisers Hyderabad

League Stage and Playoffs

Upon the onset of the new IPL season, all ten teams will engage in league matches. Every team will play 14 league matches and will be given points based on their performance. The teams that rank within the top four in the IPL 2024 points table will qualify to play in the playoffs.

League Stage

The league stage of the IPL 2024 season will be conducted in the following manner:

Round-Robin Format

IPL 2024 will be played in a double round-robin format, which means that every team will play against the other nine teams in the league stage. The top four teams in the IPL points standings at the end will be eligible to play in the IPL 2024 playoffs.

Number of Matches

The league stage is expected to have 74 matches, with all teams playing 7 matches at home and 7 matches away from home. The schedule of 21 matches has been released, with the remaining dates said to be announced at a later date.

Points System

Each team in the league will receive two points for a victory, one point in the event that the match is called off or abandoned with no outcome, and zero points for a defeat. The four teams with the highest points at the end will move on to the playoffs.

If two teams score the same number of points, then their position in the points table is determined by the Net Run Rate, which is the difference between the number of runs scored by the team to the number of overs and the number of runs deficit to the number of overs bowled in the same tournament. The least number of points for a team to qualify for the playoffs is 8.


The top four teams ranked in the IPL points table will move on to the playoffs, where they will compete to decide the winner of the season. The teams compete against each other in three rounds that decide which two teams will move on to compete in the final match. The playoffs will consist of the following rounds:

Qualifier 1

The teams that are ranked at positions 1 and 2 in the points table will play against each other in the Qualifier 1 round. The winner will move on to compete in the Grand Finale of IPL 2024.


The teams that are ranked at positions 3 and 4 on the points table will play against each other in the Eliminator round, and the winner will face the losing team of Qualifier 1. 

Qualifier 2

The losing team from Qualifier 1 and the winning team from the Eliminator match will compete against each other in Qualifier 2, with the team that wins this round moving on to the Grand Finale.

Final Match

The final match, or the Grand Finale, will decide it all, letting the winners of the Qualifier 1 and 2 rounds hash it out to decide the winner of the 2024 IPL season.


The format of the IPL can be a little confusing for those new to the league, but it appears quite simplistic after being laid out in an organised manner. All ten teams compete against each other in a series of matches to qualify for the playoffs, where the top four teams play against each other to ultimately decide the winner.

With this information, you'll feel completely prepared to cheer on your favourite team as they rise through the ranks and move forward throughout the 2024 IPL season. Having general knowledge about the IPL format can be very beneficial for IPL betting enthusiasts as well, who can plan their strategies around future matches and utilise the points system to possibly gain a competitive edge.