Explore the Complete List of the T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2022


Explore the Complete List of the T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2022

Have you fastened your seatbelt for upcoming T20 World Cup that is starting from 2nd June 2024. It is one of the most exhilarating tournaments in the cricketing calendar. Since its beginning in 2007, the T20 World Cup has seen various nations rise to the occasion, showcasing their prowess in the shortest format of the game.

So, before we start predicting for this year, let us rewind the T20 World Cup winners list from past tournaments. 

Keep reading to know the winners’ names from 2007 to 2022.

T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2002 

Following is the list of countries that lifted trophies in consecutive years



Runners Up

Player of the Series

Host Country 




Virat Kohli




New Zealand

Wanindu Hasaranga



West Indies


Mohammad Nabi



Sri Lanka


Ahsan Malik and Imran Tahir



West Indies

Sri Lanka

Ajantha Mendis

Sri Lanka




Dirk Nannes

West Indies



Sri Lanka

Umar Gul





Umar Gul

South Africa

T20 World Cup 2007

2007 was considered the inception of the Twenty 20 World Cup. India was the first country to lift the trophy under the leadership of MS Dhoni. The two biggest opponents in Asia played against each other. Men in Blue was undefeated in the series except one time when they lost a game against New Zealand.

T20 World Cup 2009

In the 2009 T20 World Cup, Pakistan faced challenges but ultimately triumphed. They defeated Sri Lanka in the final to lift the trophy. Despite losing two matches in the Super 8 stage, one to England and another to Sri Lanka, Pakistan showcased resilience and determination by becoming the champions.

T20 World Cup 2010

In the following year, England made their way into the final against Australia and defeated them. English men lost once in this tournament against West Indies. But they geared up and won all the matches thereafter to lift the trophy at the end.

T20 World Cup 2012

Marlon Samuels was unstoppable in 2012. The Caribbean team knocked down Australia in final. They had an unforgettable victory against Sri Lanka in the summit clash.

T20 World Cup 2014

India for the second time reached the final against Sri Lanka. Men in blue failed to win trophy in the end because the Carribeans were undefeated in every match.

T20 World Cup 2016

West Indies was the first team that had a second victory in the T20 World Cup. Carribeans crushed the Englishmen in the final. The credit goes to Carlos Brathwaite and Marlen Samuels. Their outstanding performance brought a historical win for West Indies.

T20 World Cup 2021

Australia, known for its fierce performance in Cricket for years, was unable to win a trophy until 2021. Led by Aaron Finch, the team suffered defeat against the English team in the early stages of the tournament. However, they regrouped and showcased an unbeatable streak in consecutive matches. Eventually, they clinched the trophy, marking a significant triumph for Australian cricket.

T20 World Cup 2022

English men, after their victory in 2010, reached the knockouts of 2016 and the semi-final of 2021. They were defeated twice. But their urge to come back stronger never got diminished as they made their way in 2022. However, they had an early defeat to Ireland. 

Despite an early defeat to Ireland, England showed unbeatable energy in the semi-finals when they knocked India by ten wickets and the target was to chase 170 runs. Their brilliant players like Butler and Alex Hales wrote a winning story for England for the second time in the history of the T20 World Cup. 

T20 World Cup 2024 Predictions 

As the focus has just shifted from IPL to the T20 World Cup, experts have given their opinions and most of them have agreed that India will reach the semi-finals. 

England, as a reigning champion, will make their way to the semi-finals. As per records from the last World Cup, South Africa seems unbeatable and they have a fair chance to make their inaugural championship this year. 

The Caribbeans have not been in good form for a long time now. Hence, their performance will remain a question.

Following is a list of preferences by the cricket expert you can consider viewing:

Experts’ Name


Sunil Gavaskar

India, England, Australia, West Indies

Aaron Finch

India, Australia, England, West Indies

Matthew Hayden

India, England, Australia, South Africa

Brian Lara

India, England, West Indies, Afghanistan

Paul Collingwood

India, England, Australia, West Indies

Final Words 

Hope, above T20 World Cup winners list will walk you down memory lane. Let us keep our fingers crossed for India to win this time.