Delhi Capitals


Introduction to Team Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals, formerly known as the Delhi Daredevils, is one of the founding franchises of the Indian Premier League (IPL) and has played competitive cricket since 2008.

The rejuvenated IPL 2024 Delhi Capitals team, with their former captain Rishabh Pant at the helm, a potent fast bowling attack, and an explosive batting lineup, are all set to stake their claim for their maiden IPL title in this latest season of the tournament. 

Overview of The Delhi Capitals (DC)

The team is now owned jointly by GMR Group and JSW Sports but was originally purchased by the GMR Group for US$84 million in 2008.

The team’s logo is synonymous with the energy and attitude of the Delhi Capitals. The logo features the Rashtrapati Bhavan (as a crown) and three roaring tigers in red on a shield, depicting the resistance of the team to failure. 

Team History

The Delhi Capitals team has experienced a steady mix of highs and lows in its long IPL journey.

Seasons 1 and 2: 2008 and 2009

In the inaugural session, the Delhi Daredevils ended up in the top four of the points table. However, they lost to Rajasthan Royals in the semi-finals and were ousted from the tournament.

The team dominated the IPL in 2009, powered by big hitters Sehwag and Gambhir, and an able bowling attack. However, they lost in the semi-finals to Deccan Chargers. 

Season 3: 2010

The team ranked fifth on the points table and did not qualify for the playoffs.

Seasons 4 and 5: 2011 and 2012

Season 4 of the IPL saw another dismal performance from Delhi Daredevils, and they finished last on the league table.

Delhi Daredevils completely revamped their team in season 5, dominated the league matches, but finished in third place for the tournament.

Seasons 6 and 7: 2013 and 2014

Delhi Daredevils had a forgettable outing in 2013 and were eliminated from the tournament after a string of losses.

The influx of new players in season 7 had no impact on the team’s performance and the team finished last on the points table in 2014. 

Season 8: 2015

The Delhi Daredevils team finished seventh in the eighth edition of IPL. 

Seasons 9 and 10: 2016 and 2017

Though the team put on an improved performance in 2016, they couldn’t manage to qualify for the playoffs and finished sixth in the points table.

The team, hinging on a young bowling and batting attack, managed a sixth position on the points table in 2017. 

 Season 11: 2018

The team lost nine league matches and ended up at last on the points table. 

Seasons 12 and 13: 2019 and 2020

The team was rebranded as Delhi Capitals before this season

The team finished 3rd on the points table in 2019. They beat Sunrisers Hyderabad in the eliminator but were defeated by Chennai Super Kings and were eliminated.

The year 2020 can be ranked as the most successful season of the team to date. The Delhi Capitals placed second in the points table and reached their first finals by beating Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2020. 

Season 14: 2021

The team had a good run in 2021 and advanced to Qualifier 2 but lost to Kolkata Knight Riders. 

Season 15: 2022

The Delhi Capitals team was ranked fifth in the points table and did not qualify for the playoffs

Season 16: 2023

The team ended up at the ninth rank on the points table.

Achievements and Trophies

The team topped the table in 2012 and qualified for playoffs in 2019. Delhi Capitals was part of the final in 2020 and topped the points table in 2021. 

AB de Villiers hit one of the two centuries in the IPL 2009 season and Virendra Sehwag was the man of the match for his 95 not out in 57 balls in 2013. J.P. Duminy became the eighth-highest run scorer in 2014. Chris Morris hit the fastest 50 (17 balls) in 2016.

Team Delhi Capitals- Squad List

The IPL 2024 Delhi Capitals team is a complete squad and has the required ammunition to contend for the IPL 2024 title.

Coach: Ricky Ponting

Captain: Rishabh Pant

Vice-Captain: Axar Patel

IPL Delhi Capitals Team – Player Profiles

Rishabh Pant

The charismatic wicketkeeper-batsman made his IPL debut in 2016. He has scored almost 3000 runs from his 100 IPL matches including a century and 15 fifties.

David Warner

The destructive Australian batsman made his debut in 2009 and has played 178 matches, scoring 6475 runs. 

Prithvi Shaw

The opener made his IPL debut in 2018 and has scored 1694 runs from 71 matches.

Yash Dull

The U-19 captain made his IPL debut last season.

Shai Hope

This West Indian batsman made his debut in 2024 and has played one match so far.

Abhishek Porel

The batsman debuted in 2023 and has scored 74 runs in his 6 matches.

Harry Brook

The English batsman has played 11 IPL matches since 2023.

Ricky Bhui

The batsman debuted in 2018 and has played 4 matches scoring 10 runs.

Tristan Stubbs

This South African player has played 6 matches for 76 runs since 2022. 

Axar Patel

The all-rounder vice-captain made his debut in 2014 and has played in 138 matches, with 1454 runs and 113 wickets to his credit.

Lalit Yadav

The off-spinner and attacking batsman made his debut in 2021 and has played 25 matches for 295 runs and 10 wickets.

Mitchell Marsh

The Australian has played 40 matches since 2010, scoring 648 runs and 38 wickets. 

Sumit Kumar

A recent addition to the team, Sumit Kumar has played only 2 matches so far.

Pravin Dubey

Pravin Dubey debuted in 2020 and has 16 runs and a wicket from 4 matches.

Anrich Nortje

This South African fast-bowler made his IPL debut in 2020 and has 45 runs and 54 wickets from 45 matches.

Kuldeep Yadav

The left-arm bowler has played 75 matches since 2016 and has 74 wickets.

Khaleel Ahmed

The left-arm medium pacer made his debut in 2018 and has played 45 matches for 60 wickets.

Ishant Sharma

The veteran bowler made his debut in 2008 and has taken 84 wickets in 102 matches. 

Jhye Richardson

The Australian bowler made his debut in 2021 and has scalped 3 wickets in 3 matches. 

Mukesh Kumar

The bowler has played 11 matches and taken 8 wickets since 2023. 

Rasikh Dar

He has played 3 matches since 2019.

Swastik Chhikara, Kumar Kushagara, Vicky Ostwal and Jake Fraser-McGurk are yet to make their IPL debut.


The Delhi Capitals team is synonymous with resilience and undaunted perseverance. It is a matter of time before the team's passion and commitment will lead to success.

With the right mix of experience and young guns raring to go this IPL 2024 Delhi Capitals team mentored by the Australian great Ricky Ponting has a high chance of converting their previously missed chances into the elusive success. The Delhi Capitals are true ambassadors of their city and aim to be the centre of action in the 17th edition of the IPL.